
New Rules 
 
Expanded Initiative Rules 
 
Over the last few months, we received many players of the T&T rules telling us that the  
initiative system works very well. However, there also arose some situations and justified  
criticism which we would like to address.  
 
Generally, we recommend using the basic system whenever two units with the same initiative  
rating get to act at the same point of the turn. There´s no problem involved if the two units  
don´t interact, but if they do, it can lead to some difficulties – for the sake of the amicable  
premise of the T&T rules, we´d prefer to have the players agree upon a sensible course, but  
we also know that in some situation, you just require a fixed rule.  
 
Thus, if two units have to activate at the same time and interact, which might present  
problems in calculating modifiers, the charge bonus, modifiers for defensive fire, or which  
units first reaches the critical high ground, we propose using the following rule:  
 
In descending order, the unit which may act first is the one  
 
1. containing both a Hero and a Leader  
2. containing a hero  
3. containing a Leader  
4. The one which has the least number of Suppression Markers.  
For example, if an Initiative 3 unit with a Hero faces an Initiative 3 unit with a Leader, the  
Hero unit may act first.  
 
Should both units be of equal standing according to the above list, we recommend each player  
should roll a D6, the highest roller going first.  
 
We do, however, wish to stress that it makes for a far more enjoyable game if you are able to  
make such decisions in the best interest of the game; thus, it might be advisable to restrict the  
use of the above rule for really, really sticky situations.  
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Suppression and Combat  
 
The following is a clarification on the effect of suppression markers on the fighting quality of  
your units.  
 
Suppression markers indicate your units`  current morale level. In case you received one or  
more markers, your unit is a little shaken and its combat ability will be affected.  
 
For every point of suppression, one figure in the unit receives a –1 modifier applied to both  
ranged and close combat rolls.  
 
Please note that these negative modifiers MUST be applied to units which are actually able to  
fight. You may not apply those modifiers to rear rankers which do not have line of sight or are  
not in base contact just to avoid the penalties.  
 
Example 1  
A unit of 10 men currently has three suppression markers and wishes to shoot  
at an enemy unit. Seven men of the unit have a line of sight to the target. Three  
of those seven men will receive an extra –1 penalty on shooting. The remaining  
four may shoot as normal. All other modifiers will apply.  
 
Example 2  
Rather than shooting, the same Unit wants to charge the enemy and is able to  
complete the charge - you get 5 men into melee range with the enemy. Three of  
those five men will receive a –1 close combat modifier.  
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Morale checks during close combat  
 
The following rule is a modification of the original rules on close combat.  
A unit which loses a round of close combat (cf. page 14 of the T+T rules book) must  
generally check morale. If the check is failed, the unit is removed from play, being either  
captured or destroyed. The following rule is meant to represent greater numbers, which are  
currently at a loss against high-quality, but smaller units to an extent which we do not  
consider truly realistic and fun to game.  
 
This new close combat rule only applies when the difference of numbers between the units is  
larger than three miniatures. If both units are larger than 10 miniatures, these rules do not  
apply.  
 
If the unit which won the round of close combat has fewer figures (four or more) than the  
losing unit, the losers morale check will receive bonus of +1.  
 
Pinned units and charging  
 
Depending on the quality of the attacked unit, a successful charge against a pinned unit  
produces the following automatic results:  
 
• If you charge a pinned RAW unit it is automatically destroyed.  
 
• If you charge a pinned TRAINED unit, it must instantly take a morale check with a -1  
  penalty to avoid being destroyed.  
 
• If you charge a pinned VETERAN unit, it must take an unmodified morale check to  
  avoid being destroyed.  
 
• If you charge a pinned ELITE unit, it must take a morale check with a +1 bonus to  
  avoid being destroyed.  
   
Note that in any case, a double one die roll on the morale check is always a failure 
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Who wins combat  The Effect of Casualties  
 
To clarify which units has won a round of melee combat, you may use the following rule  
 
If both units take no casualties in the round of melee, simply continue by the rules; nobody  
checks for morale.  
 
If both sides take casualties, calculate the combat result after rolling on the damage tables.  
 
Kills contribute two points each to your result, Wounds contribute one point each, Suppressed  
half a point, Saves none. The unit which has the highest result loses the melee.  
 
If the overall sum of both units is equal, compare the number of Kills – again, the higher  
number loses the melee. If it is STILL a tie, roll a D6.  
 
Example A  
Unit 1 received three hits and rolled the following damage results: kill, kill, wound, for a total  
combat result of five (2+2+1).  
 
Unit 2 also received three hits, but rolls “kill, kill, save”. This makes for a result of four  
(2+2+0).  
 
Unit 1, which has the higher result, loses this round of close combat and must check morale  
immediately.  
 
Example B  
Unit 1 received 5 hits and rolls: “Kill, Kill, wound, suppressed, suppressed” for a total of 6  
(2+2+1+0.5+0.5).  
Unit 2 also received 5 hits and rolls “Kill, Kill, Kill supressed, supressed  
 
Though both units lost 3 figures, Unit 2 loses this round of close combat because it received  
three kills.  
 
 
 
Dear Triumph and Tragedy Player, 
 
since T+T was released we received a lot of feedback from you. I would like to take the 
opportunity to thank you for the support, help, new ideas and also criticism.  
 
The above rules are some of the new stuff. We hope that they clarify the existing rules and 
make your T+T games more exiting.  
 
 
Björn Reichel 
Kiel, June 2008 
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